State of the Project Update

It has been just about exactly a year since I last updated this blog, and about 9 months since I worked on Chapter X of Project Carroll.

I will be honest: my enthusiasm for the project dwindled significantly starting in October 2013, and went downhill since. In fact, this is the last thing I drew for the Chapter:

069 turn not pal

That gives you a sense of how little I wanted to work on it. I like how the snail turned out, to be fair, but…compared to my efforts on other poems like “You Are Old Father William,” this isn’t good enough, and I haven’t had the motivation to make it good enough.

The truth is that Project Carroll is high-work, and low-reward, and became eclipsed by another project of mine: Relics of Hyrule, a mod for Skyrim, which was a year old in August. The two overlapped for a while, but as my life became more stressful because of college and frankly not knowing what the heck I was doing with my life, Project Carroll became a burden rather than a source of pleasure. After working for hours at coursework I didn’t care about for a degree I wasn’t sure I wanted, coming home and meticulously moving pixels around wasn’t appealing. Relics of Hyrule had a fast turn-around. I could make something for it, and see it quickly in Skyrim, and then update the mod and quickly see players’ responses. It was more free than Project Carroll, and was easier to make something I was proud of. Relics of Hyrule helped me work through my stress and depression, for lack of a better term, and after finally graduating, I’m now working in a job I love, doing things I enjoy doing.

I’m approaching a major update for Relics of Hyrule and plan to take a break from it, or at least update it less frequently with smaller bits of content.

That said, I’ve been having the itch to finish Chapter X, and move on to Chapters XI and XII, some of the most entertaining parts of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Every few weeks I think about “The Willow-Tree” and how much I want to read it for Project Carroll. Once in a while I practice my Alice voice, and come up with voices for not-yet-introduced characters. I’ve been getting excited about how I can breathe new life into the Project for myself, like streamlining the “animation” process. For instance, having full poses of Alice ready to be put in place if she is doing something she does a lot, like stand still, walk, or sit. That way, I would only have to use the “paper doll” approach for more specific poses.

Project Carroll is 4 years old today, Lewis Carroll’s birthday (I wrote this post on January 27th), so it felt fitting to give a State of the Project update. I needed some time to re-evaluate it, and I hope to have more stuff out to you in the coming months.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to State of the Project Update

  1. Adam Shirk says:

    Your Alice in Wonderland series is so good. I love that through out the entire series you have made it a sort of audio/visual read of Alice In Wonderland. And the voices are awesome. Really spot on. I know life is catching up to you so I have to expect that you have time to post as frequently but please, whenever you have the chance please update I want to see how it ends. I have a copy of the Lewis Carroll novel myself and I only read it when I listen to you so please. I understand that you probably have grown tired of this and that’s fine. But since you are two chapters away (Who Stole the Tarts, Alice’s Evidence) from being done, you might as well finish what you started right? Please?

    • I want to finish Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but I haven’t been able to find the time or the motivation. I have an idea how to make the process more enjoyable for myself, but it’s a matter of having the time to work on it. I will have time off from work in September, so I will try to at least have Chapter X out by October. I cannot promise that I will finish, nor can I promise Chapters XI and XII, but rest assured that I do want to finish, and even move on to Through the Looking-Glass.

Leave a Reply

