Some very preliminary notes about Chapter V

I’m not finished with Chapter IV yet; there is still work to be done, but I wanted to say that Project Carroll Chapter V – Advice from a Caterpillar will be a bit shorter than it is in the book. Well, significantly shorter.

I am removing the encounter with The Pigeon at the end of the chapter (though it has a great line of dialogue: “‘I-I’m a little girl,’ said Alice, rather doubtfully, as she remembered the number of changes she had gone through, that day.”) This is the only cut I will make to Project Carroll because of several reasons:

It is my least favorite part of the Alice books. It disturbs me because of how Alice grows and shrinks; i.e., that she stretches or shortens first, then shifts to a proportionate change in size. It disturbs me because the whole reason the Pigeon accuses her of being a serpent is that her neck stretches so long that she essentially is a serpent with a human head from the shoulders up.
Because of this, I really, really do not want to illustrate it. It is the only part of the books I might dread illustrating; I don’t want it visualized outside of my head. Furthermore, I think it detracts from the pacing of the story (or lack thereof), and is somewhat redundant.

I will still record the complete audio for the Chapter, complete with the Pigeon scene, but I will not illustrate it and release it instead as an outtake on the Project Carroll YouTube Channel. I’ll make a single illustration for that video: one of the Pigeon talking to Alice, but nothing more.

I did not arrive at this decision lightly and it pains me to cut something from Alice’s Adventures, but I promise I will make up for it come the Through the Looking-Glass portion of the Project. I don’t want to give anything away, but I’ll say that Chapter VIII of Through the Looking-Glass will be a bit longer than in some versions of the story and it will be well worth the loss of the Pigeon scene.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

